Daylight Saving Time begins Sunday -- clocks 'spring forward' one hour

Daylight Saving Time begins Sunday.

On the second Sunday In March, clocks are set ahead one hour at 2 a.m. local standard time. On the first Sunday in November, clocks are set back one hour at 2 a.m. local daylight time.

Many remember the process by saying we "spring forward, fall back."

According to the experts at the U.S. Naval Observatory, daylight saving time was first established in 1918, then repealed in 1919. It was re-established nationally early in World War II. After the war, its use varied among states and localities.

During the "energy crisis" years, Congress enacted earlier starting dates for daylight time. In 1974, daylight time began on Jan. 6 and in 1975 it began on Feb. 23. After those two years, the starting date reverted back to the last Sunday in April. In 1986, a law was passed that shifted the starting date of daylight time to the first Sunday in April, beginning in 1987. The ending date of daylight time was not subject to such changes, and remained the last Sunday in October.

Since 2007, daylight time has started on the second Sunday in March and ended on the first Sunday in November.

Learn more on the National Institute of Standards and Technology website:

Print this article Back to Top