A host of new laws go into effect today.
1. Minimum wage goes up to $9 in California. In 2016, the wage will go up to $10 an hour: http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_minimumwage.htm
Employers must post the applicable California Department of Industrial Relations Wage Orders, including new MW-2014, which has been updated to reflect the new minimum wage. There are 17 industry or occupation-specific Wage Orders, copies of which are available from the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, as well as from employer trade associations.
A less-advertised consequence of this increase is the impact it will have on the salary test for preserving an employee's exempt status. Under California law, a supervisor classified as exempt must be paid a monthly salary that is no less than two times the wages paid to a full-time minimum wage employee. After July 1, 2014, the minimum monthly salary to preserve exempt status under California Labor Code section 515, will rise to $3,120 per month, annualized to $37,440. In addition, the penalties available for minimum wage violations will now include “liquidated damages.”
2. State and local governments can no longer ask job applicants about past criminal convictions (with exceptions):
3. All battery-operated smoke alarms in rental units must contain a non-replaceable, non-removable 10-year battery: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB745
4. Property sellers must disclose lawsuits and claims on property:
5. Prime contractors required to disclose the CSLB license numbers of subcontractors on public works projects: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/13-14/bill/asm/ab_0001-0050/ab_44_bill_20130909_chaptered.htm
6. Paid family leave expanded to include grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, and parents-in-law: http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/paid_family_leave.htm
7. Transgender Californians can now easily change their names and identity:
8. Energy savings measures:
9. AB161: Domestic Violence restraining orders can now prevent one party from changing insurance coverage.
10. AB176: Gives Domestic Violence victims greater protection by allowing police to follow the toughest protective order when there are multiple or conflicting orders.
11. AB93, SB90: 4.2% Sales and Use tax exemptions for manufacturers, researchers and developers.
Grandfather turns home into haunted house
It's getting close to that night of fear when all the ghouls and goblins appear. Now, one man is turning his home into a place filled…
Mission at Kern County gets unexpected gift
Drug abuse is something we hear about on a daily basis, but it hits particularly closer to home for one Bakersfield family who are now giving…
BPD: 1 woman pinned to car recovering at hosp.
A woman pinned inside her vehicle after getting into a two-car accident in the southwest is recovering at a local hospital, according to the…
IEEE awards $1,500 to Boys & Girls Club of Kern
The Boys and Girls Clubs of Kern County is getting a little help from an unexpected source.