BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and if you don't put the phone down while you're behind the wheel, it could cost you a hefty fine.
According to the California Highway Patrol, more than 200 law enforcement agencies will be on the road searching for distracted drivers.
This growing problem kills hundreds of Californians every year and injures thousands more.
Nationwide more than 3,000 people lost their lives to distracted drivers in 2011, according to the CHP.
Last year officer's say they wrote nearly 60,000 tickets statewide to drivers illegally using their cell phones during April alone.
A first offense will cost you $159 and a second ticket would set you back $279.