CSUB Athletics To Join Western Athletic Conference in 2013

CSUB Athletic Teams To Join WAC

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - All Cal State athletic teams will join the Western Athletic Conference, effective, July 1, 2013.

The move completes months of negotiations between CSUB and the WAC, as the Roadrunners, along with Utah Valley, became the fifth and sixth members of the WAC.

CSUB will join Utah Valley, along with New Mexico State, Denver, Seattle and Idaho in the six-member conference. 

In addition, none of the conference members will play football.  The first time in the league's 59-year history that no conference members will participate in football. 

WAC commissioner Jeff Hurd hopes to expand the conference to 10 members, with a wish list eventually growing to 12 schools.

Print this article Back to Top