House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy announces counterterrorism legislation

Posted at 2:52 PM, Jun 15, 2016
and last updated 2016-06-15 17:52:08-04

House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy announced new counter-terrorism legislation Wednesday.

Below is his full statement:

House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23) and House Homeland Security Committee Chairman Michael McCaul (TX-10) released the following statement on the House’s upcoming vote this week on the Countering Terrorist Radicalization Act:

“Our nation rallies behind Orlando and the families of the victims in the wake of this terrorist attack. As we mourn and pray, we must also respond to the threat ISIS poses to our homeland. We must secure our nation from terrorism and prevent radicalization here at home so the American people can be safe and live without fear. Over the course of the past few months, the House has passed multiple bills to counter radicalization, prevent attacks, and stop terrorists from entering our homeland. In an effort to get as many of these bills as we can signed into law as quickly as possible, the House will vote this week on an initial package comprised of three previously passed House bills to be sent to the Senate. We would like to thank Representatives Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03), and John Katko (NY-24)—the original co-sponsors of these three bills—for their leadership.  Every single one of these bills passed with wide bipartisan support. There is no reason this should not be sent to the President’s desk and signed into law immediately. We also plan to consider additional bills in the wake of the attack in Orlando.”

BACKGROUND: The Countering Terrorist Radicalization Act is comprised of the three bills listed below: 

  • H.R. 4401, the ALERT Act of 2016 – PASSED 2/29/2016
  • H.R. 4820, the Combating Terrorist Recruitment Act of 2016 – PASSED 4/26/2016

H.R. 4407, the Counterterrorism Advisory Board Act of 2016 – PASSED 5/16/2016