Losing an hour of sleep

Posted at 5:31 PM, Mar 09, 2016
and last updated 2016-03-09 20:31:22-05

Every year about 78 countries will set their clocks ahead one hour. But not all U.S. states participate in Daylight Saving Time. If you live in Hawaii or Arizona your clocks won't change. Furthermore, other countries like Russia, India, Japan and China do not observe DST.

The last state to participate on DST was Indiana. Daylight Saving Time started in 1918 as a way to conserve fuel during war time.

Nobody likes to lose an hour of sleep, but many will take advantage of the extra sunlight to squeeze in more outdoor activities. Despite your opinion on DST, clocks need to be updated on Sunday, March 13.

Don't forget about your microwave, car clock, oven and other devices that don't update automatically.