NewsNational

Actions

Proposed Indiana law would make it illegal to smoke in vehicles with children in them

Posted: 11:45 AM, Jan 17, 2019
Updated: 2019-01-17 19:45:52Z

INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana lawmakers are considering a bill that would make it illegal to smoke in your own vehicle if you have a small child with you.

The bill, introduced by State Senators Jim Merritt (R) and Eddie Melton (D), would require anyone convicted of smoking in a motor vehicle with a child that was 6 years old or younger to pay up to a $1,000 fine.

The fine would get bumped up to $10,000 after your fourth offense in a 12-month period.

If passed, Indiana would be the 10th state to establish a similar law.

According to the American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation, the other nine states include:

  • Arkansas (For a child under 14)
  • Maine (For a child under 16)
  • Utah (For a child under 16)
  • California (For a child under 18)
  • Oregon (For a child under 18)
  • Vermont (For a child under 9)
  • Louisiana (For a child under 13)
  • Puerto Rico (For a child under 18)
  • Virginia (For a child under 8)