Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett to be inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

Posted at 2:06 PM, Apr 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-04-04 22:01:21-04

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. — Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett will be inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame.

The 2020 Class will be formally announced on Saturday. All three players retired in 2016 and are now first-ballot Hall of Fame inductees.

Bryant led the Los Angeles Lakers to five NBA Finals and won two NBA Finals MVP's. In 2008, Bryant won the NBA MVP. His induction as a first-ballot Hall of Famer was inevitable and was rumored at the time of his tragic death in January.

Duncan led the San Antonio Spurs to five NBA Finals as well during their overlapping dynasties with the Lakers. Garnett was a member of the Boston Celtics "big three" that defeated the Lakers in the 2008 NBA Finals.