Gov. Newsom announces statewide closures of indoor operations for certain sectors

Posted at 12:18 PM, Jul 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-13 20:37:57-04

Gov. Gavin Newsom announced the statewide closure of certain sectors as coronavirus cases continue to spread.

The list includes sectors like: restaurants, wineries and tasting rooms, movie theaters, family entertainment centers, zoos, museums, and cardrooms.

Newsom ordered bars to close all operations.

"Today we are announcing additional statewide actions as it relates to our stay-at-home order here in the state of California. We are now, effective today requiring all counties to close their indoor activities, their indoor operations in the following sectors: restaurants, wineries, tasting rooms, movie theaters, family entertainment centers, zoos and museums, card rooms and the shuttering of all bars. This is for every county in the state of California," said Newsom.

As part of the announcement, Newsom said fitness centers, non-essential offices, worship services, personal care services, hair salons and barbershops, and malls must close in counties on the state's monitoring list.

"We are also announcing effective immediately all the counties on our county monitoring list we are directing they close indoor operations in additional sectors," added Newsom. "We have this list: fitness centers, places of worship, offices for non-critical sectors, personal care services, that includes hair salons, barbershops, and indoor shopping malls."

Newsom stated that 30 counties are now on the state monitoring list, making up around 80% of the population. Initially, Kern County was included on the list of monitored counties. However, in a later tweet, he announced that Kern County was not on the list.

The updated counties include:

  • Colusa
  • Contra Costa
  • Fresno
  • Glenn
  • Imperial
  • Kings
  • LA
  • Madera
  • Marin
  • Merced
  • Monterey
  • Napa
  • Orange
  • Placer
  • Riverside
  • Sacramento
  • San Benito
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • San Joaquin
  • Santa Barbara
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tulare
  • Yolo
  • Yuba
  • Ventura