NewsCovering California


U.S. Forest Service temporarily closes all national forests in California due to wildfires

Posted at 12:40 PM, Sep 09, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-09 15:40:26-04

VALLEJO, Calif. — Due to unprecedented and historic fire conditions throughout the state, the USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Region is announcing a temporary closure of an additional ten National Forests, meaning all eighteen National Forests in California are now closed.

The closure of the additional ten forests will be effective at 5 p.m. Wednesday. These additional forests include the following:

  • Eldorado National Forest
  • Klamath National Forest
  • Lassen National Forest
  • Mendocino National Forest
  • Modoc National Forest
  • Six Rivers National Forest
  • Plumas National Forest
  • Shasta-Trinity National Forest
  • Tahoe National Forest
  • Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit

This decision will be re-evaluated daily as conditions change. The U.S. Forest Service closed eight National Forests on Monday evening.

Explosive growth of fires throughout California during the day and late evening of Tuesday led to this updated decision.

“The number of large fires and extreme fire behavior we are seeing across the State is historic," said Regional Forester Randy Moore. "These temporary closures are necessary to protect the public and our firefighters, and we will keep them in place until conditions improve and we are confident that National Forest visitors can recreate safely. I ask all Californians and visitors to take these closures and evacuations seriously for their own safety and to allow our firefighters to focus on the mission of safely suppressing these fires ."